For Millennials. By Millennials.

Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan Chronological Reading Order

Popular novelist Tom Clancy (late) introduced the character of Jack Ryan globally via his intriguing military novel series. Clancy’s Jack Ryan books, in fact, speak spies, terrorists, and veterans across the world. If you want to know more about the books on which Amazon Prime’s Jack Ryan character is adapted from, here is the chronological reading order guide for you.

Jack Ryan season 2 On Amazon

We have, in fact, posted recently that Amazon has released Jack Ryan season 2 a day earlier than the assigned date. John Krasinski is playing Jack Ryan. It is generally assumed that this Halloween offer truly disperses entertainment among those who are familiar with Jack Ryan’s background (synonymized as Ryanverse).

Tom Clancy’s fictional universe Expands On Global Scale

Ryanverse, thus, refers to Tom Clancy’s fictional universe with 28 books featuring Jack Ryan and other popular characters. These fictive icons include John Clark and Domingo Chavez. PBS’s The Great American Read has nominated these manuscripts as America’s best-loved novels.

Jack Ryan TV Series Has An Original Nativity

Surprisingly, the TV Series adaptation of Jack Ryan does not display any of the penned Clancy’s plot. Amazon’s Jack Ryan, in fact, is a pristine presentation that only sketches Tom Clancy’s imagination of a CIA-analyst who accidentally got into a mission. The Jack Ryan seasonal series, in fact, has nothing to do with any of the Clancy’s script, even not from the big-screen adaptation.

However, Four of Clancy’s Jack Ryan novels have reached the big screen including The Hunt For Red October (1990), Patriot Games (1992), Clear And Present Danger (1994), and The Sum Of All Fears (2002).

Graham Roland, one of the show-runners revealed to Entertainment Weekly in a July interview.

“We tried to adapt Clear And Present Danger, about a month into it, we realized the reason the Clancy books worked so well was that they were relevant for the time that they were written. So we had to take the spirit of what he did and create our own original story.”

Bestseller Tale, Red October

According to the publication calendar, the first and most read among them is Red October, a tale of a contemporary nuclear Russian submarine heading west. Both Americans and Russians craved for this U-boat. The hunt began and the CIA analyst Jack Ryan finds himself trapped in the middle of a conspiracy schemed by world powers—a game that can ignite a war.

Jack Ryan Books Reading Order | Chronological

However, if you are a military science fan and planning to explore this fictional thrilling series, it is recommended to begin with the following chronological order, the order in which the story flows.

Chronologically, the series begins with Without Remorse, (dated back to 70’s decades) where the appearance of Jack Ryan is just hinted.

Patriot Games

Set in 1981 simply referred to Ryan’s age which was 31 at the beginning of the novel.

Red Rabbit

Probably defined as the spring of 1982. Here Jack Ryan Jr. is 5 months old. It also refers to the death of Mikhail Suslov in January 1982.

The Hunt for Red October

It’s in 1984. Ryan is in London for Christmas. He had, in fact, already arrived in the previous novel.

The Cardinal of the Kremlin

In 1986.  Ryan is 35 years old.

Clear and Present Danger

Jack’s age is 40 in 1988. In addition, Troops landed in  Colombia to encounter the  Medellín Cartel.

The Sum of All Fears

This story is set in  1990–1991. The book narrates the events after the Persian Gulf War and before the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

Debt of Honor

The tale describing 1995–1996. The book was published eleven months before the 1997 presidential inauguration. Another interesting chronology is that North and South Korea was unified between  the gap of The Sum of All Fears and Debt of Honour.

Executive Orders

The story narrates the events of 1996.

Rainbow Six

In 1998, the events of the Sydney Olympics held in 2000 becomes the subject.

The Bear and the Dragon

The story revolved around 2002. As a matter of fact, the predecessor of The Bear and the Dragon is  Rainbow Six both by publication date and chronological order.

The Teeth of the Tiger

This 2006 story is based on the US global war on terrorism. The war which arose in response to the 9- 11 attacks, which occurred in the Ryan universe as they did in the real world. It addressed that the Jerusalem Treaty signed in The Sum of All Fears failed as Israelis and Palestinians were still on war.

Dead or Alive

In 2007 Jack Ryan’s, surprisingly, announced that he would compete with  Ed Kealty for President “in the coming year”. It, specifically, revolved around  Al-Qaeda and its leader (Osama bin Laden).

Locked On

In 2008, Jack Ryan Sr.’s started a campaign for re-election.

Threat Vector

The 2009 Threat Vector described the events six months after the previous novel. Ryan Sr. , however, is now the president of the United States.

Command Authority

The novel, in fact. define the period about five months after the events of Threat Vector in the springtime, in 2010.

Support and Defend

Ethan Ross, in fact, resided at the White House for three years. It happened in 2010.

Full Force and Effect

In 2010, John Clark is (66) and Ding Chavez is (47). It is revealed in a conversation between Jack  Ryan Sr. and Arnie Van Damm, that the former has two years of his presidential term left.

The rest of the amazing novels in chronological order as follows:

  • Under Fire (2015)
  • Commander in Chief (2015)
  • Duty and Honor (2016)
  • True Faith and Allegiance (2016)
  • Point of Contact (2017)
  • Power and Empire (2017)
  • Line of Sight (2018)
  • Oath of Office (2018)
  • Enemy Contact (2019)
  • Code of Honor (2019)

Tom Clancy breathes life in the character of Dr. John Patrick “Jack” Ryan, Sr., KCVO (Hon.), PhD. He’s the prestigious CIA analyst. The Sr. Jack Ryan is present in some of his scripts. After that, Clancy continues his script with Jack Ryan Jr.

Since Tom Clancy passed away in 2013, Mark Greaney took his responsibility and is still publishing new Jack Ryan Jr. novels regularly.